Alex Crosbie proved to be unbeatable all weekend and has the now extended his lead in the 2023 NAPA Auto Parts NZ Formula Ford Championship after the second round at the Taupo International Motorsport Park, Taupo. Five wins from five races sees the Southlander with a 99-point lead to Sebastian Manson with Dylan Grant third overall just eight points further back. The meeting also doubled as the sixth and penultimate round of the 2022/23 Giltrap Group North Island Formula Ford Series with valuable points up for grabs.

While Manson set the fastest lap in qualifying, winning the $1,010.10 Hampton Downs NZ Racing Academy cash prize and initially took the lead in each race, Crosbie was eventually able to take the lead and create a gap from the pursuing pack, until the checkered flag.

“Definitely I am very excited to get all five wins and good to get the points,” commented Crosbie. “I had a bit of pace in the middle of each race which helped create a gap and get me ahead of all the battling behind me.”

While Crosbie got away from the field in each race, several battles went on behind him for podium as well as top-ten placings. Manson was able to maximise his starting position and finished with three second and two third placings.

“I was able to get good starts but I just didn’t quite have the pace to stay with Alex (Crosbie),” said Manson. “We have points in the bank so happy with that.”

The NAPA Auto Parts ‘Driver of the Round’ $230 trade voucher went to Blake Knowles who finished with three podiums. Dylan Grant paced in the top five in all races, finishing third overall for the round while Daniel Brown also stood on the podium.

Rookies drivers Caleb Byers and Will Neale proved to be quick and threatening to break into the top five in each race. They both enjoyed battling with Blake Dowdall, Mason Potter, Hayden Bakkerus, Jack Noble-Adams, Zach Blinco and Dylan Petch in a display of typical tradition toe-to-toe Formula Ford racing, all fighting for top-ten positions and valuable points.

Dylan Grant has taken the lead of the 2022/23 Giltrap Group North Island Formula Ford Series 35-points ahead of Blake Dowdall with Mason Potter slotting into third ahead of Alex Crosbie with the finale to take place 14-16 April at Manfeild Park Chris Amon in Feilding.

The NZ Formula Ford Championship takes a break break before heading to the South Island for the final two rounds over consecutive weekends. Teretonga Park in Invercargill hosts the penultimate round 18-19 March before the finale in Christchurch 25/26 March2023

The Napa Auto Parts NZ Formula Ford Championship and the Giltrap Group North Island Formula Ford Series are also supported by Yokohama, the Tony Quinn Foundation and NAPA Auto Parts.

Caption: #28 Will Neale #73 Caleb Byers #90 Zach Blinco and #17 Dylan Petch

Photo Credit: Geoff Ridder